Home > Album Information > HANDEL: Messiah (Complete)

HANDEL: Messiah (Complete)

Detailed information about this album may be seen after you log into the site. You can see examples of this information by giving the 15-minute Preview a try.

Track Details

Disc 1

Messiah, HWV 56- 02:31:29
1 Part I: Sinfonia: Grave - Allegro moderato 00:03:07
2 Part I: Accompanied Recitative: Comfort Ye, Comfort Ye my People 00:03:48
3 Part I: Air: Every Valley Shall be Exalted (Tenor) 00:03:56
4 Part I: Chorus: And the Glory of the Lord Shall be Revealed 00:02:37
5 Part I: Accompanied Recitative: Thus Saith the Lord of Hosts (Bass) 00:01:29
6 Part I: Air: But who may Abide the Day of his Coming (Alto) 00:04:37
7 Part I: Chorus: And he Shall Purify the Sons of Levi 00:02:52
8 Part I: Recitative: Behold, a Virgin Shall Conceive (Alto) 00:00:30
9 Part I: Air: O Thou that Tellest Good Tidings to Zion (Alto and Chorus) 00:06:14
10 Part I: Accompanied Recitative: For Behold, Darkness Shall Cover the Earth (Bass) 00:01:38
11 Part I: Air: The People that Walked in Darkness (Bass) 00:04:25
12 Part I: Chorus: For unto us a Child is Born 00:04:12
13 Part I: Pifa: Pastoral Symphony 00:03:41
14 Part I: Accompanied Recitative: There were Shepherds Abiding in the Field (Soprano) 00:00:47
15 Part I: Recitative: And the Angel said unto them (Soprano) 00:00:37
16 Part I: Recitative: And suddenly there was the angel (Soprano) 00:00:20
17 Part I: Chorus: Glory to God in the highest 00:01:40
18 Part I: Air: Rejoice greatly, O daughter of Zion (Alto) 00:05:03
19 Part I: Recitative: Then Shall the Eyes of the Blind be Opened (Alto) 00:00:33
20 Part I: Air: He Shall Feed his Flock (Alto, Soprano) 00:05:45
21 Part I: Chorus: His Yoke is Easy 00:02:46
22 Part II: Chorus: Behold the Lamb of God 00:03:00
23 Part II: Air: He was Despised and Rejected of Men (Alto) 00:10:54

Disc 2

Messiah, HWV 56- 02:31:29
1 Part II: Chorus: Surely he Hath Borne our Griefs 00:03:14
2 Part II: Chorus: And with his Stripes we are Healed 00:01:39
3 Part II: Chorus: All we like Sheep have Gone Astray 00:03:30
4 Part II: Accompagnato: All they that see him (Tenor) 00:00:45
5 Part II: Chorus: He Trusted In God 00:02:02
6 Part II: Accompanied Recitative: Thy Rebuke Hath Broken his Heart (Tenor) 00:01:53
7 Part II: Arioso: Behold, and see (Tenor) 00:01:45
8 Part II: Accompanied Recitative: He was Cut off out of the Land of the Living 00:00:23
9 Part II: Air: But Thou Didst not Leave his Soul in Hell (Tenor) 00:02:38
10 Part II: Chorus: Lift up your Heads 00:03:13
11 Part II: Recitative: Unto which of the Angels said he at Any Time (Tenor) 00:00:19
12 Part II: Chorus: Let all the Angels of God Worship him 00:01:17
13 Part II: Air: Thou art Gone up on High (Alto) 00:03:19
14 Part II: Chorus: The Lord Gave the Word 00:01:07
15 Part II: Air: How Beautiful are the Feet of them (Soprano) 00:03:00
16 Part II: Chorus: Their Sound is Gone out into all Lands 00:01:14
17 Part II: Air: Why do the Nations so Furiously Rage Together (Bass) 00:02:58
18 Part II: Chorus: Let us Break their Bonds Asunder 00:01:51
19 Part II: Recitative: He that Dwelleth in Heaven (Tenor) 00:00:16
20 Part II: Air: Thou Shalt Break them with a Rod of Iron (Tenor) 00:02:15
21 Part II: Chorus: Hallelujah 00:03:36
22 Part III: Air: I Know that my Redeemer Liveth (Soprano) 00:07:17
23 Part III: Chorus: Since by Man came Death 00:01:58
24 Part III: Recitative - secco: Behold, I Tell you a Mystery (Bass) 00:00:42
25 Part III: Air: The Trumpet Shall Sound (Bass) 00:08:44
26 Part III: Recitative - secco: Then Shall be Brought to Pass (Alto) 00:00:19
27 Part III: Duet: O Death, Where is Thy Sting? (Alto, Tenor) 00:01:10
28 Part III: Chorus: But Thanks be to God 00:02:24
29 Part III: Air: If God is for us (Soprano) 00:05:29
30 Part III: Chorus: Worthy is the Lamb / Amen 00:06:41